Skip to content

world’s worst coat closet: before and after

December 16, 2009

Well I suppose you can say I’ve reached a ‘nesting’ phase.  You can tell this because my house looks like a disaster but behind doors and cabinets things are looking organized.  Apparently my tactic is pull everything out we don’t want or need and leave it on the floor.  Everything else gets labeled and put into some sort of container.  Luckily we have a Christmas party at our house on Saturday so I have a deadline to get the floor space cleared out!

Here is our coat closet before:

Yeah, that’s an empty gun case.  Classy right?

After:

Yes, I store paper towels and TP in our coat closet.  A 1960’s ranch doesn’t come with built in storage that fits today’s lifestyle.  (I’m not sure what paper towels and TP have to do with any kind of lifestyle….but just go along with it okay?)  I improvised with a sweater hanger from Target that was like 7.99.  Just so you know, paper towels happen to be the exact depth of a sweater organizer.  Things like this make me happy.

Okay, I’m off to create more chaos!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 3:11 am

    love it! i use sweater hanger thingies all the time, especially in my kids’ rooms. i use them to store sheets and blankies. they add lots of storage space without taking up too much room in the closet! lookin’ good! i love organization!

  2. December 20, 2009 9:20 pm

    Okay I am a MORON!!! I kept writing messynester.wordpress.com so I thought you had cancelled your blog!!!!

    So now that I remembered it correctly I am catching up on everything!!!!

    I LOVE Adeline’s name (SOOOO beautfiuL) and the nursery is going to be adorable 🙂 YAY!!!

  3. December 20, 2009 9:20 pm

    oh yeah!

    your closet looks nice too 🙂

    haha I love the little name badges on everything!!!

  4. January 22, 2010 1:29 am

    Just found your blog! And I have to say, this is kind of an inspirational picture–I just moved into a new place and the closets have kind of turned into where I shove everything I don’t want to deal with just yet. But it looks so much nicer when it’s organized like this!

Leave a Reply

