Skip to content

budgeting

August 19, 2009

***Note to my readers:  I promise I haven’t abandoned you.  Lots of changes going on around here.  More to come of that soon!  (Its good news, I promise!)***

With some recent changes going on in Casa de Messy Nest we have seen the need to buckle down and pay attention to our spending and budgeting.  I found out that Quicken now has their online accounting service for free now (love that word: free.) and promptly signed up and was shocked at how good and how quickly it will make you feel like a failure in anything having to do with saving money.  I mean that in the best way possible.  If you want a swift kick in your “where is our money going” pants  sign up for the service.  (No, I’m not getting paid to say that.  Although, after looking at our spending I should try to get paid for it! haha)

Here is what I came up with:

We spend too much money.

A real ‘light bulb’ moment, right?

{Sigh….} We eat out WAY too much.  Apparently we are also REALLY into entertainment.  (I don’t feel to entertained come to think of it….)

I have  the Dave Ramsey “Total Money Makeover” on hold for me at the library.  I’m going to read through that.  I don’t think the whole cash system will work for us (we pretty much only use our debit cards) but I am hoping it will give me some insight into how to budget better.  I mean, I am really really good at coming up with a budget.  I have all kinds of budgets that I have come up with.  The problem is following through on them!

What system do you use to budget?  I am open to any suggestions!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2009 2:06 pm

    Friend, I have that book and you can TOTALLY borrow it! Seriously. I’ll bring it to you tomorrow night! 🙂

  2. August 19, 2009 8:44 pm

    I have the CD’s to the money makeover if you prefer audio instead 🙂

    oh and PLEASE remind me to get your air pump to ya!
    I keep forgetting to :S

  3. September 2, 2009 11:04 pm

    Oh my word. I forgot how you make me laugh! I don’t feel as entertained as my spending record would have you to believe, either!! Is the Quicken thing similar to Mint.com?

Leave a Reply

