Skip to content

Spring Clean: Declutter and Decorate your Bedroom

March 19, 2009

springcleanbedroom1I feel like I haven’t been posting as much as I usually do…not sure why.  Also, just so you know I have not forgotten about the Spring Clean series, I just am having to find the time (and budget) to do the next projects.  Plus, it isn’t technically Spring yet so I suppose I have like 3 months to finish the series right?  Right?  🙂

Today I thought I’d talk about shopping the house and de cluttering your area.  Especially in the bedroom.  I feel like our bedroom becomes a random catch all for things and also it is pretty low on the decoration totem pole.  So seeing as how I don’t really have budget to redecorate I decided to look at what I have and start from there!

I didn’t take any before pictures immediately before starting.

Click Here for some pictures I have that are pretty close to what was in there.

 

I moved a the jewelry cabinet and quilt rack, the laundry hamper is now in the closet and also I switched some art from around the house and added another lamp to the mix.  The only thing I bought was the art over the quilt rack. I got it on clearance at Kirkland’s.  

Here is what I came up with:

  img_04851

 

     The bedding and side tables are all the same.  You can see the new placement for the quilt rack and art in this picture though.

Also, the empty gun case under the bed is going somewhere else. So please ignore it.  🙂

 

 

img_0486

 

   Here you can see that I cleared off the dresser top except for our alarm clock and the candle.  Also, I moved the jewelry cabinet next to the dresser (where the hamper and quilt rack were) and added a lamp (from my garage sale pile!).  Also, the magnolia print from above the TV was previously hanging in the hallway.

 

 

img_0490

 

   As small as this area is I think it has made the largest change in the room.  The extra lamp makes the room feel warmer and I don’t have the overhead light glaring all the time now.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_0494  When I found this pillow at Target a couple months ago on clearance for something like 6 bucks I was so excited!  It looks like the ones I drool over at anthropologie all the time.  Plus Hubs is much more understanding over a 6 dollar pillow than a 90 dollar one!  

 

 

 

 

Like what you are seeing here?  Check back for the next installment of Spring Clean!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sunshineandsprinkles permalink
    March 20, 2009 1:46 am

    I can’t wait to go to your house and see what you’ve done with the place lol you always change something!!!

    okay so how did you put that link up with the Blog roll thing???

    See ya tonight!!!

  2. March 20, 2009 9:27 pm

    Greatings,
    Thanks for article. Everytime like to read you.

    Have a nice day
    SonyaSunny

  3. March 22, 2009 2:56 pm

    Greatings,
    Not sure that this is true:), but thanks for a post.

    Thanks
    Elcoj

  4. March 23, 2009 8:40 pm

    I will be concentrating on my bedroom today. I will not post before pics as they are awful. Let’s just say since my husband has been on night shift, we have been sleeping in my son’s room(dark curtains) and our bedroom has become the catch all. That will be changing today, and perhaps I will have to post some after pictures. Jackie

Leave a Reply

