Skip to content

Spring Clean: Office/Craft closet

March 10, 2009

springclean-officecraftI’m excited to get started with this Spring Clean series!  

 

My small (and I do mean small!) home office/craft room/catch all room has been a thorn in my side since I moved into it about a year ago.  There are several hurdles I have had to jump.  First being I made horrible desk decisions.  I have 2 stripped down IKEA desks that have no drawers or built in storage of any kind.  Couple this with the fact I never cleaned out the small closet when Hubs moved into his own office I had a major storage crisis on my hands.  

Here were my main storage needs:

  • Craft supplies (paper, stamps, paint, glitter, fabric, sewing)
  • Wrapping station
  • Office Supplies
  • Etsy shop inventory

 

Before (Just keepin’ it real people)

img_0449img_0450

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the nonsense that was my closet.  Eek!

 

 

 

After (Ahhhh.  Much better!)

img_0452img_0453

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The clear sorter is supposed to be for organizing files on your desktop.  It now holds gift bags!

img_0454

 

 

With the tissue paper sorted and at my fingertips (along with the scissors hanging in the closet) I can wrap up a gift in no time flat!

 

 

img_04551

 

Storage fixes:

  • Wrapping center:  I used the hanging rod as my tissue paper holder, re-purposed a desktop organizer to store all the gift bags, put frequently used ribbon in a ribbon box I found on clearance, condensed wrapping paper to only my favorites and stood upright in a small box in the corner.
  • Sewing supplies:  Moved the machine to the closet so I just need to pull it out to use, cloth and all sewing supplies are condensed to 2 storage containers.
  • Etsy Inventory:  Used an over-the-door shoe organizer to hold (and protect) my  inventory, put all shipping needs in with the wrapping center for quick shipping.
  • Crafting:  Organized all scrapbook paper by color and filed it in a portable file, sorted scissors, stamps, markers, ect. into their own shoebox containers.

Cost:

10 clear stack-able shoe boxes – $10 ($1 each)

2 medium clear storage boxes- re-purposed (free!)

Martha Stewart ribbon box- $3 (clearance!)

Shoe organizer- re-purposed (free!)

Desktop organizer- re-purposed (free!)

Shelving- re-purposed (moved it from the laundry-free!)

Total cost: $13  By re-purposing everyday items that we all have laying around or aren’t being used effectively you can creatively and frugally organize anything.  

 

Here is what my office looked like before (several months ago)

dsc001291

dsc00130

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And now!

img_0457

img_0458

Much more room to breathe.  (and craft!)

By moving desks, shelving and putting most of my “junk” to organized boxes and in the closet or shelves I feel like I can actually relax in my office/craft room now.


 

 

 

I still have more “junk” in here then I would prefer but at least I now know where all of it is!

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_0460img_0459

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, that is my little office/craft room.  I hope you enjoyed the tour.

Like what you are seeing here?  Check back for the next installment of Spring Clean!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 8:42 pm

    Great job! Can I come relax in your craft room?

  2. March 10, 2009 10:48 pm

    It looks fabulous!! Your “before” photo of the closet looks EXACTLY like my crafty closet except mine is worse. I will post a photo one day… maybe!

  3. March 10, 2009 10:55 pm

    *sigh* How completely refreshing to see someone else’s craftroom/office in utter dismay! Thanks for posting those before pictures…they really spoke to me. *haha*

    The AFTER pictures are just great, though! I really love that red wall. What a beautiful choice! 🙂

    Enjoy your “new room!”

  4. March 10, 2009 11:39 pm

    I love seeing before and after pics of organizing! It looks great and very inspiring!

  5. Ray permalink
    March 11, 2009 5:56 am

    Wow! With my birthday right around the corner you’ll be able to give that new wrapping center a great workout! 😀

  6. March 11, 2009 10:55 pm

    Dad, it is a good thing I organized it just in time! 😉

  7. March 19, 2009 8:58 pm

    Your blog provides a fresh look at the subject. You might want to take a look at my blog and possibly become a regular reader.

    Free Samples. Updated with a complete new list of Free Stuff every 24 hours.
    http://lm.logicalmedia.com/z/8578/CD2855

  8. November 7, 2010 7:34 pm

    Ugh! This is motivating me to clean my own closet… 😉

Leave a Reply

