Skip to content

back to reality.

March 2, 2009

Hola!  How is everyone doing?  Hubs and I are back from our vacation.  It was fantastic and a wonderful break!  

 

We were in the Mexican Riviera with stops in Puerto Vallarta, Mazatlan and Cabo San Lucas.

The first 2 days of the trip were just at sea on the boat.  We hung out on the deck and walked around eating ice cream cones.  It was fabulous.  (Pst!  Just so you know, Hubs said I’m not allowed to show any pictures of him on here.  Also, there probably wont be any of me either if I would be in a swim suit.  I love my readers and would like to keep them!)

Our first stop was in Puerto Vallarta.

img_0308  img_0327We booked a wonderful excursion on a 1930’s sailboat (it was supposed to be a catamaran but the sailboat was a nice surprise).  The trip was supposed to be snorkeling, lunch in an old fishing village, and a hike through the jungle to a waterfall and hidden cove.   On the way to the snorkeling site we saw humpback whales and a manta ray.  It was awesome!  Because the water was in the mid 70’s there was an algae bloom and the snorkeling didn’t look great so Hubs and I stayed on the boat with some people and hung out.

Then we got to Yelpa Beach which is an old fishing town with a beach.  This is where we had lunch and would see the waterfall.  Turns out they hadn’t gotten rain in a while so we didn’t get to do the waterfall so we hung out on the beach for a while before getting back on the boat to sail back to our cruise ship.  

(Apparently Hubs wants to live in the village someday.  I’m not convinced.  You can only get there by boat and well its….how can i say. Very rural.  Very 3rd world country kind of vibe to it.)

On the sailboat I got to use the worlds tiniest bathroom.  It was crazy.  I would have taken a picture but I didn’t think my camera would fit in there with me.  Not exaggerating at all imagine a porta potty but about half the size.  Plus a sink it there with you.   Oh, and a mop closet.  Definitely an efficient use of space!

 

The next stop was in Mazatlan.  

Oh, Mazatlan,  how I am scared of you.  This city is definitely not what I would call pretty or relaxing.  Now don’t get me wrong, once we made it to the resort’s beach I was able to wind down.  The trip there however was scary.  Here, I took some video just for you to see.

Just so you know that taxi is like a glorified golf cart.  A golf cart that goes about 60 miles an hour down a crowded street.  A golf cart that has doors that rattle that you try not to touch in fear that they will fling open and you will fall out.

And this is what a traffic intersection looks like is this fine town.  I took this as we were going about 40 mph into this intersection.  This isn’t stand still traffic people.  Every one is just driving.  Apparently there are no rules in Mazatlan.

img_0347Before the scary taxi we saw Papantala Flyers. These guys climb a pole and swing down with only a roped twisted around them.  Crazy stuff.

After the show we walked a few blocks to the beach resort we booked as our excursion that day.  We had a buffet, some Mexican cokes, and hung out in the sun there.  We took no pictures though.  This was the hottest sun I have ever felt in my life here.  I really thought I was going to spontaneously combust. 

After the beach we strolled around the town and I found a cute ring to get as a souvinear.  Then we hopped in another scary taxi (not quite as threatening) and headed back to the ship.

 

Our last port of call was Cabo San Lucas.  I was very excited about this port because its one of the hottest vacation places right now.  (That is according to my Us Weekly.)

img_0411

 

People come from all over to see this arch in what is called Land’s End.  (It’s the very tip of the Baja peninsula I believe.)

Our excursion this day was to a niiiiiiice resort.  

img_0372

 

 

 

 

Like, “oh man.  I could get really used to this”  kind of nice.  We laid out and then had a yummy buffet and then it was time to get back on the ship and say goodbye to Mexico.

 

I know you probably didn’t care to read any of this about my trip.  That is unless you are my parents.  So, thanks for humoring me.  I will close with a picture of my new bff.  The 24 hour ice cream dispenser on the cruise ship.  I didn’t know joy until I could eat an icecream cone in bed.

img_0441

 

 

Don’t forget about the GIVEAWAY!  I will be drawing a winner of the secret prize this afternoon.  So, stay tuned!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ray permalink
    March 2, 2009 7:05 pm

    Welcome back! Looks like a great get away and I bet Lilly had a fit when you got home. That taxi ride didn’t seem so scary. I guess you’ve never ridden with yourself before. 🙂

  2. March 2, 2009 8:23 pm

    Looks like fun!! My favorite part of a cruise is always the free 24/7 ice cream!! 🙂

  3. March 3, 2009 12:38 am

    Haha! Glad ya’ll had a good time. I’m still nauseated from watching your scary video though. I wouldn’t recommend a career in videography honey! 😉

  4. yo lil sis permalink
    March 3, 2009 3:11 am

    haha dad is funny. yeah seriously, try ridin with you…almost that bad. but yay!! i wanna go on a cruise sooo bad! did you get sunburned really bad?? you didnt look like it on the last picture! ill be proud if you didnt. and i cant wait for my present that i KNOW you got me;) haha(ya know, the boy worthy of my marriage)

  5. March 3, 2009 9:12 am

    LOL!! I absolutely adore the pic of you with the soft serve machine, ha!! When I was in middle school my mom took me & my bros on a cruise to mexico with her best friend & her daughters (my best friends) and we ate sooooooooooooo much ice cream LOL whenever we got bored we’d just all look at each other and be like “wanna go get some ice cream?” “wanna go get some pizza?” YEsss, 24 hour all you can eat junk food is DANGEROUS!! 😀

Leave a Reply

