Skip to content

13 things nostalgic

January 29, 2009

Remeber back in November how I tried to blog everyday for a month and added all these “things” to my posting schedule?  Remeber how I failed miserably?  Haha.  Those were good times….

In honor of those good times I am doing the 13 Thursday thing again.  Just for today.
THIRTEEN THINGS I MISS OR DONT’ MISS AT ALL

1.  Slap braclets.  Those things were the talk of the playground.  Then some dumb kids had to go and cut themselves with them and get them outlawed.  (Miss!)
2.  Diet Cherry Vanilla Coke.  Dear Coke people-  Bring back this drink.  Who cares about Diet Coke with Splenda and Lime?  I can’t stand diet drinks expect DCVC made my heart (and tongue) sing!  Please?  Bring it back? (Miss!)
3.  Plastic Thermos lunch boxes.  I can still smell the plasticy goodness.  Oh, and the flip up spout thing in the thermos?  Greatness….I had a few differnt ones through the years….Barbie, My Little Pony, Skipper, I think Carebears or maybe it was Pound Puppies?  (Miss!)
4.  Clear Pepsi.  What on earth were the Pepsi people thinking?  I remember asking/begging my parents to buy this when it came out.  I think I took like 3 sips and was d-o-n-e.  This is on the bad idea list right after New Coke.  Luckily I never had to try New Coke, but I’m just sure I would hate it.  (Don’t Miss this at All!)
5.  Captian Planet.  I used to LOVE this cartoon!  Who doesn’t love the thought of “ring activated” powers?  (Miss!)
6.  Working at a swimming pool.  I worked for the city swimming pools for about 5 years (during the summer only).  It was so much fun!  I was a cashier to begin with then moved up to manage the cashiers from the home office.  I have lots of great memories from that job. (Miss!)
7.  My metabolism.  I can recall (mostly from pictures) a time I had a wonderful metabolism.  He has since decided to take a sabatical.  I am trying to lure him back with these “gimmicks” called vegetables and gym memberships.   We shall see…  (Miss!)
8.  Sanrio Suprise.  Remember these stores?  Hello Kitty, Chococat, Batz-Maru?  I also remember that plasticy smell of that store.  (I’m seeing a plastic trend…)  My parents must have really loved me to spend that much time (and money) in that store!  Thanks Mom and Dad! (Miss!)
9.  TGIF on ABC.  Family Matters, Step by Step, Boy Meets World, Dinosaurs, Hangin’ with Mr Cooper.  How and why has TV changed?  (Miss!)
10.  Jellies.  Plastic shoes.  I prefered the kind with out the buckles.  You knew it was summer in Tx when your feet sweated right out of those shoes.  These tried to make a comeback recently.   (Don’t Miss This at All!)
11.  Mixed Tapes.  As great as the internet is and the ability to download any song under the sky, there was something fantastic about listening to the radio with a tape in your tape player JUST INCASE you heard your favorite song.  All my tapes were with the first part of the songs cut out becasue I was running across the room to hit record or scrambling to find another tape of flip the current one over.  (Miss!)
12.  Dairy Queen.  Yes, I know these are still around however there aren’t any in my city or surrounding cities.  Are they only in Tx?  I know that the slogan is something like “The Texas Stop Sign”.  Dipped cones and Oreo Blizzards remind me of my childhood!  (Miss!)
13.  Tinkerbell Perfume.  I felt like I was the coolest kid ever when I had this stuff to wear.  I still remember the smell.  GAG ME!  I think I will stick with my Cartier ‘Delice’ for now… (Miss!  But, I Don’t Miss This at All!)
What do you miss or don’t miss at all???
7 Comments leave one →
  1. hilltopper permalink
    January 29, 2009 8:29 pm

    when you wore jellies and your feet would sweat and the you walked through a dusty parking lot, when you took them off there would be like a dirt pattern of the design of the shoes stenciled on your feet. i will go with dont miss on that one also.
    and on the DQ note, we have 2 within 10 minutes of our house, one in indiana and one (the better one) over the bridge in kentucky.

  2. Amanda Jo permalink
    January 29, 2009 8:29 pm

    GREAT POST!!!! I too miss Dairy Queen, TGIF and my plastic lunch box.

    You know what I miss? I miss all of the “safe” playground equipment – merry go rounds, maypoles and teeter-totters (see saws). Those were the days….

  3. Gayle permalink
    January 29, 2009 10:28 pm

    LOL… you are definitely younger than me… I miss the Flintstones, the Jetsons, and The Brady Bunch. (I know there are reuns out there somewhere… I just never see them)

    Dairy Queen is in our mall here in California. Blizzards are a treat in the HOT summer.

    I never wore jellies, but I don’t think I missed much. I loved your post… it was fun. =)

  4. Shannon permalink
    January 30, 2009 12:20 am

    Is that what happened to slap bracelets??? Never knew that…

    I miss TGIF too! I loved Boy Meets World.

    I don’t think DQ is just in TX because we have them in Arkansas. Love those choc dip cones!

  5. Reborn permalink
    January 30, 2009 10:00 pm

    I looove DQ. I would cry if mine dissapeared!

    Hey, I left you a blog award! Be sure to check it out.

    🙂

    Reborn

  6. DanainDFW permalink
    January 31, 2009 3:48 am

    We’re lucky to have a DQ within walking distance. In the summer, we walk down around dusk and have a dipped cone. Then walk home in the dark.

  7. yo lil sis permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:00 pm

    aw those made me wanna cry…i just wanna be a little kid again!! i miss you being around me all the time. love you.

Leave a Reply

