Skip to content

day 2-cleaning supplies

November 5, 2008

So….we are only on day 2 (for me) of this whole blog everyday for a month thing.  Guess what?  I have no idea what to write about.  So, I am going to cheat a little and go off of an article I read on MSN earlier.  (Don’t laugh when you see this article.  I promise I have a life.)

I read this:
10 Must-Have Cleaning Tools
1. BROOM: The speediest way to clean the Cheerios you spilled this morning. 

2. MOP: Better than on your hands and knees (nicer to your manicure, too). 

3. BUCKET: Multiple uses, but mainly to cart around cleaning supplies or mop water.

4. PAPER TOWELS: Easy, convenient, effective, disposable.

5. SCRUBBING SPONGE: Easy, convenient, effective, reusable. 

6. GLASS CLEANER: Must-have solution for windows, mirrors, and anything else made of glass in your home.

7. MULTIPURPOSE CLEANER: Use to clean up pet messes, kitchen messes, boyfriend messes.

8. VACUUM: Keep your classy new rug from CB2 spotless and fluffed.

9. WOOD CLEANER: Give wooden floors a polished look just by mopping. Just add to a bucket of hot water and get mopping.

10. MICROFIBER SPONGE like Mr. Clean Magic Eraser. This tool is your key to clean, polished surfaces everywhere! It once even got hair dye off a kitchen chair for us. Trust us: It works.


This got me thinking.  What are MY top 10 cleaning tools?

1. Broom- duh.
2. Windex-  we get a lot of nose prints on windows and doors here.
3. Fantastik-  Because well, its fantastic!  No really.  It is great.  I use it on everything.  Even carpet.  I have gotten all kinds of stuff out of my rugs with it.
4. Mr Clean Magic Eraser-  We have light colored OLD countertops that stain really easily.  A drop of tea on the counter for 3 seconds stains(no exaggeration).  The Magic Eraser gets it all up.  I even have used it to get paint from my husbands green SUV off my white car from a little run in I caused.  Saved me a paint job!
5. Walmart brand all purpose spray w/bleach- This is also good on our light countertops.  It also is one of the few things that will get all the hairspray off my bathroom countertops.
6. Swiffer Wet Jet-  I heart this thing.  
7. Lilly- She is an excellent dirt devil/Roomba.  She can suck crumbs out of any rug or tight spot.
8.  Febreze-  Someone should actually take this away from me.  I am addicted to the stuff.  Even if the house is a mess I can just spray it and it feels cleaner.
9.  Pledge- I am OCD about dust.  If the coffee table looks even slightly dusty I have to dust the whole house.
10. Ummm yeah, I can’t think of anything else.

What is your all time favorite cleaning tool?
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Empty Nest Full Life permalink
    November 5, 2008 4:42 am

    I did that the other week, and I was drawing a blank. My schedule is so crazy right now, I can’t seem to stay very focused. I was going to post this AM and they called from the school so I went in at 8:45, and here I sit blogging when I should be busy straightening up the house, and they just called so I will be back at the school, and I promised one of the students reeses cups so I have got to go get those too. I am loving those kids though. God knew what I needed right now. Jackie

  2. Shannon permalink
    November 5, 2008 5:01 am

    Believe it or not..I don’t even have a broom or a mop!!! 🙂 I use a dustbuster for everything. I have pretty much everything else on your list. I love the magic erasers.

  3. hilltopper permalink
    November 5, 2008 5:13 am

    and dont forget vinegar, bye bye hard water stains.

Leave a Reply

