Skip to content

Geekin’ out 80’s style.

October 21, 2008
So, I got to be 7 again on Sunday.  
I went to see NKOTB!  (if you lived under a rock in the late 80’s/early 90’s that means New Kids on the Block-just so you don’t feel left out)
This is Kelli, one of my bestest friends!  We went to high school together and
do boy band stuff together.  I blame her for my N’Sync love.

The picture above was us standing in line for waaaaaaaay longer than 2 grown women should ever stand in line to get their picture taken with cardboard people.  

But we are huge nerds.  I love us for that.

The concert was so much fun!  We also felt like 2 of the sainest people there.  All of the ladies who I have a feeling were like soccer moms in the REAL world were acting like crazed jr high girls.  It was hysterical!  We got to hear mainly old stuff and it was all great.  They sounded just like they did 15 years ago.  Natasha Bedingfield opened for them.  She was great also.  The lady (I shouldn’t call her a lady from the way she dressed and acted) who opened for Natashia was HORRIBLE.  I mean HORRIBLE.  We couldn’t understand a word coming out of her mouth and got to see WAY too much of what was going on under her skirt.  I not sure why they thought an audience full of women and gay men would want to see something like that.

Here is the worst quality video taken by Yours Truly of the opening.  I would suggest lowering the volume on your speakers before playing.  That is unless you like to hear grown women in hysterics.  

It was definitely a great time!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tranquility permalink
    October 21, 2008 11:34 am

    OMG – that is too funny!

    I nearly fell out of my seat when I drove past teh Tacoma Dome a few months ago and first saw that they were doing a round of concerts. At first I thought it was a joke.

    My best friend from high school and I were joking about going – would have too if we could have organized it – would have been so much fun. We LOVED them back then… Ah, the memories – haha!

  2. Holli permalink
    October 21, 2008 1:07 pm

    Hi, I found your blog through a love of our husbands. I peeked into your blog and I must admit I was a NKOTB fan back in the day. I grew up in Wash. state, but currently live in Texas. When I was 14 my parents took my best friend and I to the King Dome to see them. It was so much fun, half the fun was watching my dad try to dance and afterward trying to pull all the cotton balls out of his ears that he thought would quiet the noise. Thanks for the memory lane boost.
    Always,
    Holli

  3. Shannon permalink
    October 21, 2008 7:56 pm

    That is so funny! It bet ya’ll had a great time!!

  4. hilltopper permalink
    October 21, 2008 8:08 pm

    im so jealous!

  5. ROXY permalink
    October 21, 2008 8:27 pm

    Oh, how fun!! I remember going to see them at our local amusement park when I was younger. Don’t you just love seeing bands from when you were younger? We saw Poison last year. Granted they looked pretty old, it was still a blast! Thanks for sharing:)

  6. Crystal Victoria permalink
    October 21, 2008 8:43 pm

    wow, who would’ve thought that back in the 90’s when they broke up, that what, some 18 yrs. later (?) they would be back and have that big of a crowd?? Insane! I still remember growing up when they were totally cool, how my sister use to right on her hand “NKOB”…and it was soooooo cool!….LOL…what nerds we were.

    Sounded like you had fun!

  7. Liz permalink
    October 21, 2008 8:50 pm

    WHATTTT!!!!????? I SO would have been there too. Good memories. 🙂

  8. Anonymous permalink
    October 22, 2008 1:59 am

    man you should give the person who told you about that concert an awesome gift or something cause you owe them BIG TIME:)

Leave a Reply

