Skip to content

Living Room

October 5, 2008
I’m stuck.  I think I just need a fresh set of eyes on it.  I don’t really like how our living room looks and I have no real budget to be redecorating.    So…here are a couple picture of the room.  I have notes on them and need opinions!  


Side notes:  

  1. This room is over twice as long as it is wide.  Yes.  It’s 35×15.  
  2. Also, the fireplace is about 12 feet long.
  3. The sofas are modular.  So, we can move them to any combo we want.
  4. I’m not allowed to move where the TV is.
Too bad you can just call up that Freestyle show in HGTV.  

I have better though, I have you ladies!
Can you help me?
7 Comments leave one →
  1. Messy Jessy MN permalink
    October 5, 2008 9:55 am

    First of all you have a super cute living area. But as always decorating improvements are irresistible.

    I would try a hanging rail system that could be installed on your ceiling right above your window area.

    Ikea has a system called Kvartal that might work for you situation.

    http://www.ikea.com/us
    Good luck!

  2. Shannon permalink
    October 6, 2008 1:51 am

    I love all your wood work in your living room and I am loving your sofas!!

    Ok, could you scoot the sofa down a little to be centered with the fireplace? That way your art would be centered on your paneling. Also, I would do away with one of your end tables and only put on inbetween your two sofas.

    I would defintely do window treatements and move that small art from behind the tv. It is kind of lost.

    Center your rug in front of (under the front legs of your sofa) the sofa that faces the fireplace. I think you said you already did this.

    More pictures might help too. I just love the color of your sofas!! And your floors are awesome!

  3. Crystal Victoria permalink
    October 6, 2008 6:47 am

    TINKLE ZONE!!!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!ROFL!!!!

  4. hilltopper permalink
    October 7, 2008 2:49 am

    maybe you could add a reading nook to break up the length. i know, i just wish i had room for a reading nook. and dont be a chicken, drill!! you can always fill it in with putty and touch up paint if it turns into a failed experiment, because you do need some curtains.

  5. Sarah Mae permalink
    October 7, 2008 9:48 pm

    I’m in the same boat as you, so no real help from me (sorry!) I do love your hard wood floors and the color you have!

  6. Anna permalink
    October 8, 2008 8:35 am

    I love your living area and it’s always fun moving things around.

    My home is very open plan with the kitchen, dining area and living room all openeing onto each other. Something I’ve tried which seems to work is to use your furniture to create different living areas.

    I would suggest moving your sofa to the middle of the room to section off the living/tv area as one zone and then create another zone of your choosing behind the sofa. A rug would also help to anchor the space as it’s own area.

    Essentially my tip is to cut your room in half by repositioning your furniture.

    P.S. Love your sofa and lamp!

  7. Empty Nest Full Life permalink
    October 8, 2008 6:26 pm

    My den is pretty long too, so the best thing is to make two separate areas instead of one giant area. Without seeing the entire room all together it would be hard to say, but in my den I have a seating area centered around the fireplace, and the other end has an old table for a desk, and old bench, and a piece of furniture used to store books etc. Hope that helps. Jackie

Leave a Reply

