Skip to content

weekend update

September 29, 2008

This weekend Amanda and I went to some garage sales and a couple antique malls with our friend Mandy.  We had  a great time.  In fact, we had such a great time we kind of forgot to each lunch.  We were out doing stuff from 8 to 4ish.  Lunch didn’t come until after 2!  I found The Joy of Cooking cookbook at a garage sale for 2 bucks.  You can’t beat that price!  Also, at the antique mall I  found a cute file/magazine holder that is pink and has 3 hooks on the bottom and a red and white Pyrex baking dish that matches the one my hubby’s grandmother gave me at my wedding shower.  I am slowly going to start collecting pieces (it would be great if they were all this pyrex) and actually use them instead of more modern bakeware.  


I took a picture of the salsa and “cheese” Friday when I got home from the store.  We had taco salad for dinner.  Does anyone else find it ironic that I would bother to get Organic salsa when I was making queso with Velveeta?  The queso was for hubby.  I can’t really stand anything with velveeta.  However, that salsa is my new favorite.  Hubby like it too.  Its sooo good!
What is your favorite brand of salsa?
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Empty Nest Full Life permalink
    September 29, 2008 8:16 am

    Sounds like a fun weekend. My son buys some salsa, I think it is organic too, along with chips that come in a large brown bag, and they are both great. Sorry I don’t know what kind. I actually prefer homemade just using canned tomatoes, but everything else fresh. Have a wonderful week. Jackie

  2. Shannon permalink
    September 29, 2008 7:16 pm

    Sounds like you got some fun things!! Wish we could see them…. (hint hint!) 🙂

    I love my sister in law’s homemade salsa or On The Boarder Salsa.

  3. Amanda Jo permalink
    September 29, 2008 8:30 pm

    Velveeta…NASTY. Makes me sick just thinking about it.

  4. hilltopper permalink
    September 29, 2008 10:47 pm

    Great Value salsa, it may not be the absolute best, but it is the cheapest and 3yr olds dont care.

  5. Ray McVay permalink
    September 30, 2008 7:46 am

    Interesting. I just pulled a Muir Glen coupon out of the Sunday paper because their fire roasted diced tomatoes sounded great.

  6. Dawn Gahan permalink
    October 1, 2008 7:37 am

    Is the tray with the cupcakes on it a recent find? It looks adorable!

    Dawn

    P.S. And, Kate, you soooooo have to make yourself some headrest cozies for the car!!!

Leave a Reply

