Skip to content

my closet

August 15, 2008
Below are pictures of my closet.  WAIT, don’t you go scrollin‘ down yet!  I am showing the whole world so I can get feed back and tips.  
Okay….so here is my ACTUAL closet in current condition.  
We were fortunate that we inherited the elfa closet system.  If it didn’t come with the house then we would probably have even worse problems.
The blurred area is there to protect the innocent.
When you walk in the closet we have a long wall of just shelving.

And by innocent I meant your retinas.  
They don’t need to see my unmentionables….oops, I mentioned them.
This is to the right, its my side.
This is the top area.

This is the bottom area.  
As you can see, I have no full length place to hang my the dress I own.
So, its hanging off the end of the shelf.  Works well enough I guess…

Hubby’s side.
Top

Bottom
Usually there are more clothes there…they are all in my “to iron” pile.

So if you can make sense of these bad pictures.  I would really love any input you have.  And since they are elfa, everything is adjustable.  I know I could go to the container store and they would lay something out for me.  But, I have a feeling they would talk me into crazy expensive add-ons.  So…I am asking y’all first.  (Yes, I said y’all.  I say it all the time.  I’m from Texas.  Y’all got a problem with that?)
What should I do with my closet?
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth Pierce permalink
    August 15, 2008 8:58 pm

    I absolutely cannot offer advice on closet organization…If I showed you a picture of mine you’d laugh. Really.

    …and I hate the western/rustic junk too.

  2. Liz permalink
    August 15, 2008 9:14 pm

    If I had a walk in closet I’d rearrange the storage how I wanted it, but before hand I’d paint the walls something fun and cheerful. I’ve always wanted to decorate a closet.

    Our closets are miniscule (house built in 1952=tiny closets). I shudder at the though of showing mine. 🙂

  3. Shannon permalink
    August 15, 2008 10:07 pm

    I hang all my clothes by style. For instance, I have tank tops, short sleeve, short sleeve with collars, long sleeve, long sleeve with collar, and so on… It is a lot easier to find things.

  4. Abbreviated permalink
    August 17, 2008 11:17 pm

    Have a love hate relationship with my closet.

  5. Christy permalink
    August 17, 2008 11:40 pm

    When I organize my closet, I begin by getting rid of anything I don’t wear or won’t wear. I like to have my clothes organized by season that I wear them, color, and style. It makes it so much easier to find what I’m looking for then.

    It looks like you are off to a great start with the baskets. I LOVE to organize using baskets! I also keep my shoes in boxes. That way they aren’t falling off the shelves and it kind of forces me to put them away:)

    Good luck and just think how great you will feel when you are done!

Leave a Reply

