Skip to content

your closet

August 13, 2008
I have been thinking about closet organization a lot lately.  (is it sad I think about stuff like this?)  I have tried multiple different methods.   Grouping like colors, styles, occasions.  Nothing works for us.

How do YOU organize your clothes????
11 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    August 13, 2008 7:24 am

    I don’t! We have a small closet with 2 rows. Top has my shirts just all mixed in. Bottom row has Jeff’s. Pants go in the dresser drawers.

  2. Cali Homemaker permalink
    August 13, 2008 9:03 am

    Oh, if I even showed what my closet looked like right now… I could never show my face again. hehehe…

  3. Amanda Jo permalink
    August 13, 2008 8:21 pm

    unfolded and unhung in laundry baskets.

    …..what?

    I’m busy watching the Olympics. I’m a total addict.

  4. Crystal Victoria permalink
    August 13, 2008 9:30 pm

    Yeah, I am with you – I normally, (when I organize my closet, which is like, everytime the cowboys win a game) do the color thing…but then to I am one person…it probably would be no where near to organized if two people were working out of one space. I will keep a look out for solutions for you.

  5. Lesley permalink
    August 13, 2008 9:53 pm

    I dont think I have enough clothes in the same colours to do the colour thing but I do the skirts/trousers/dresses/tops together but thats as good as it gets!!!
    I dream of a walk in wardrobe with special compartments for shoes etc ………….
    Lx

  6. Ray McVay permalink
    August 13, 2008 11:00 pm

    Wait a minute. Are you saying that you have so many clothes that they consume all closet space and poor DH doesn’t even get his own separate area of retreat?

  7. Empty Nest Full Life permalink
    August 14, 2008 3:22 am

    If only my closet looked like the one in the picture, or was big enough to look like the one in the picture. This is how I organize. I have one side, my husband has the other. Shelves in the middle. I hang all blouses together, t shirts together,pants, skirts then dresses in the back. I then try to group according to color, this has helped me to see that I do not need another brown t-shirt. The little OCD thing that I do is use white hangers for my side and blue hangers for his side. I just like that it looks a little more uniform this way, and no my closet does not stay neat all of the time.

  8. duchess permalink
    August 14, 2008 4:25 am

    I sure hope that’s not a picture of your closet.

    Mine however is just grouped by seasonal items. Sleeveless tops together, short sleeve t’s together, dressier things, etc. Not much to it but it works for us.

  9. Christy permalink
    August 14, 2008 5:20 am

    I found your blog from Shannon at Bless Our Nest. Your layout is so cute! I love the little bird and the colors.

    I think about closet organization too. It’s not just my clothes closet but linen closets, pantries, and coat closets. You get the idea. My clothes are arranged by color. It just makes it so much easier when you are looking for a particular piece of clothing. I also organize by type of clothing.

    I’ll be back to visit!

  10. Nikki permalink
    August 14, 2008 7:16 am

    I found you on Shannon’s blog!

    I group pants together, dresses and skirts together, (in the back where you can’t see) and all of my shirts by sleeve length – you know tanks all the way to long sleeves. Sometimes they are also by color, but not always. The floor of my closet needs help. I have organizer for organizer, but they don’t work if your just throw your shoes in the bottom of the closet.

  11. Crystal Victoria permalink
    August 14, 2008 8:18 pm

    Isn’t Jen so much fun to go with?!! I use to always feel so great having that much time to talk with her. I miss going on Laser trips!!

Leave a Reply

