Skip to content

rolodex shmolodex

August 5, 2008
I have seen and loved this new trend in the scrapbooking/crafty world called “Altered Rolodex”.  Since I am cheap (why are these things so dang expensive?) but still wanted to try this new craft out, I have had my eye out for a rolodex on sale and saw the medium size at Sam’s yesterday for a price I was willing to pay. 
And I did this:


There are a few different ways people are using these.  Some people use it as Rolodex intended with just contact information.  Others do tiny scrapbook pages on each card and some just try out different techniques and on the back tell how they did it so they can do it again in the future.  I am filling my full of everything.  Phone numbers, recipes, cleaning tips, passwords, websites…you name it.  I want it to be like a brain for me.  Only pretty and not slimy and grey.  

I have tabs for each letter of the alphabet.  Right behind each letter will be the regular contact info for people.  Then I have some sub-tabs.  Like above I have this “homekeeping” tab filed behind the H.  I have a “Birthday” tab behind B with 12 separate cards for each month behind the birthday tab.

Here, behind the T is some info on our Toyota.

In other news:
Starbucks (my BFF) just started a new program today!  If you buy a drink in the morning (actually before 2pm), keep your receipt!  You can come back after 2pm and get a Grande iced drink for only  2 dollars!  Lets get caffeinated ladies!!!
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Jo permalink
    August 6, 2008 1:34 am

    Ok, I changed my mind. I DO want a brain like that for my birthday, which is very soon, might I remind you – AGAIN.

    Thanks for the Starby tip! 🙂 Wait. A. Second. I thought Jennifer Aniston and I were your BFFs. Oh, did you hear they might do a “trial” marriage? weirdos.

  2. sestapleton permalink
    August 6, 2008 7:26 pm

    what a great idea! that is inspiring me to do something like that. very cool!

  3. Crystal Victoria permalink
    August 6, 2008 9:36 pm

    That rolodex idea is so cute!! I will let you make me one one of these days…you know, when I have a house/apt…with a desk in it….LOL…

    OH MY GOODNESS!!! Starbucks is so cool because they do awesome stuff like this! Is it just like ‘for a limited time’ kinda thing? Or is this something we can take full advantage of on our trip? 🙂 mmmm, coffee. It makes me happy.

  4. Cali Homemaker permalink
    August 12, 2008 9:20 am

    This is sooo ADORABLE and a super, super GREAT idea! I want to make one… Where did you buy your Rolodex?

  5. Cali Homemaker permalink
    August 12, 2008 9:23 am

    PS I see that you got your at Sams… do you know of other places that have nice sized ones? And, if you don’t mind.. how much was the one you found on sale?

  6. salpetitt permalink
    August 17, 2008 8:32 am

    I Like Like! My mom had one for years…maybe i’ll go steal it! I’m new to your blog- I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

