Skip to content

Our Bedroom

July 7, 2008

Awhile back, I said I would post pictures of our bedroom.  Well…I obviously never got around to that.  Since the challenge on Like a Warm Cup of Coffee today is to clean your car out and I did that yesterday, I thought I would post the “Creating a Sanctuary” pictures that I never posted.  (I’m starting to see a trend here)

I actually re-did some things in here last week.  
The stars over the bed I found at Goodwill.  (shocking, yes I know)  And I dry brushed them with green and blue paint.  Also, The Nester would be very proud of my pillow mis-treatment.  The larger throw behind the circle pillow is just green ticking fabric that is pinned and tucked and trim hot glued on.

Here is the corner with the TV and hamper.
  This isn’t my favorite look but it is clean. One day I hope to get a hutch for the TV so it can be hidden away.  (Plus extra storage!)

Our dresser, in front of the bed.  
This is not the best arrangement.  As you can see in the picture, if you are sitting on the bed with the overhead light on you are blinded from the reflection in the mirror.

Empty wall with some art.  
These used to be a dark brown until last week.  I dry brushed them to match the stars.

I need help on this picture.  The walls in our bathroom are dark olive green.  The sink area is open to the room (you can see it in the TV picture)  What accent color should I do in here? Would light blue and red look okay with the green?  I need your opinions! Thanks!

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July.  We didn’t do much at all.  We mainly hung around the house.  On Saturday I went antiquing with Amanda and our friends Shayla and Krissy.  It was tons of fun!  Plus, we got some cute stuff!  Amanda and I fought over a cute strawberry canister, I won it, she found another one in the store.  (what are the odds of that!)  I also got a floral picture with a green frame, a vintage table cloth and a vintage runner as well.  The antique store is closing (sad day) so everything was 45-70% off! 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Jo permalink
    July 8, 2008 2:45 am

    I’ve always thought your bedroom was cute, even with the Dale Jr. alarm clock. Somebody really awesome must have bought that for a gift exchange and you guys must have gotten pretty lucky to draw it.

    Can we get a close-up of that pillow?

    I’m also glad I got a strawberry canister too! I thought it was funny how seriously those ladies thought we were! Hahaa!

  2. Amanda Jo permalink
    July 8, 2008 3:07 am

    Semicolons! Kate, how many times do I have to tell you not to make me laugh out loud at work!!!

  3. Sarah Mae permalink
    July 10, 2008 11:50 pm

    Wow! Your bedroom is beautiful!!! My green eyes are sparkkling! 😉

  4. Michelle permalink
    July 13, 2008 9:41 am

    I love your BED! Is that totally weird to love a stranger’s bed?

Leave a Reply

