Skip to content

One Crazy Birthday.

May 5, 2008

I definitely had a birthday weekend for the record books!  Friday started off great, I went shopping with my friend Jennifer in the morning.  That afternoon I went by a couple stores to check out sales.  That evening though I started getting this sharp pain in my right abdomen that was horrible.  I barely slept and when I got up in the morning it wasn’t any better.  Well, seeing as Saturday was by birthday I WAS getting a pedicure.  So, I went and got a pedicure and then stopped by Kohl’s to see if they had some jeans that I liked.  While shopping my pain got worse and worse and by the time I got home I could barely walk.  I was getting pretty concerned at this point.  I decided to go on with my morning plans before hand because I thought that getting up and out would kind of work the pain out.  Boy was I wrong!  So, I decided to look on webmd.com to see what my symptoms alluded to.  And the site said it was either my appendix or an ectopic pregnancy.  Either one, not good.  So, I told DH I think I needed to go to the doctor.  We went to a minor emergency clinic and waited FOREVER.  And they said they were referring me to the ER to make sure it wasn’t my appendix.  Well, we get the to the ER and they do tons of painful poking on my stomach (one doctor was asking for black eye he hurt me so bad)  and ran lots of tests.  I had the pleasure of receiving 3 vials worth of blood work, urinalysis, an x-ray, cat scan and 2 kinds of sonograms.  Aren’t those all wonderful b-day gifts?  So…to make a long story short, I had had a cyst on my left ovary that ruptured and was bleeding internally.  I got admitted to the hospital and kept over night so they could keep an eye on me because if the bleeding didn’t stop on it’s own I would require surgery.  Luckily it stopped and I am back at home now.  I am still in some pain and they said it would take about a week to recover completely.  

On a better note, I did get some really neat stuff for my birthday!  I got a sewing machine and lots of pins, needles and other things I have no clue how to use yet.  I also got a lot of books and a couple house plants and a gift cert to a cute boutique place I like to shop.  I think I am set for  awhile!  
I want to thank all my family and friends who were concerned and supportive this past weekend.  I really appreciate you all!  Sorry if in my drugged up state I wasn’t so nice!  It was the drugs talking, I promise!
Love ya!
Kate
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    May 7, 2008 2:05 am

    Wow…that definitely sounds like a crazy birthday! Glad you are better now! A new sewing maching? That sounds like an awesome birthday gift. Belated birthday wishes to you!

  2. Tamara permalink
    May 11, 2008 3:27 pm

    Hope you are doing better. Happy Belated BDay

  3. May 1, 2009 2:32 pm

    Oh my goodness, that’s awful! My friend has had a few cysts rupture so I (sort of) understand how painful it can be. She has a super-high pain threshold but she’ll practically lose consciousness and have to stay in bed for days. I can’t believe you were out shopping. That’s what I’d call determination, girl!

Leave a Reply

