Skip to content

This morning and last night

April 24, 2008
I had this huge, elaborate blog all typed last night with my mouse over the “publish post” button and what do you think happens?  Electricity goes out.  I was ticked.  So…lets try again!
This morning I am sipping on this:

Thinking about this:
Yes, yes I know.  You have probably no idea who this woman is in this picture.  (Actually either women because I don’t think I’ve posted myself anywhere)  The woman signing my book (I don’t think I actually look like that in person and it was bad hairday weather in Texas yesterday so please excuse me) is Robin Miller from Food Network’s Quick Fix Meals.  She came to our Central Market yesterday to do a class and book signing and I was so excited to meet her because I loooove her show.  She always seems so nice and “mom like” on her show and hoped she would be just as nice in person.  Well, she was BETTER in person!  First of all, she is gorgeous.  Second, she is so teeny tiny I thought about stealing her and sticking her in my purse to take home with me so we could BFFs.  Thirdly, she seems so nice and genuine and you could tell she really loves what she does.  No one I talked to about me going to this class knew who the heck she was except Amanda over at A Special Blend.  Their loss I guess.  Well, she made this Southwestern Coleslaw and we got to try it.  It was YUM!  I don’t even like coleslaw I could eat this stuff she made all day.  Also I had a stupid and embarrassing “oh my goodness you are talking to someone you watch  on TV” moment.  Here is what happened:
We are all in line to get our cookbooks  signed and it is my turn.
Robin:” Thanks for coming!”
Me: “Um (giggle) yeah! Thanks for inviting me.”
Oh, yeah I forget this wasn’t a dinner party or something at her house.  I paid money to go see her.  There was no inviting. In fact, it would have made more sense for the convo to go the opposite direction.  So yeah, I was such a dork.  But it is alright now.  I’m sure she doesn’t even remember the “awkward lady who doesn’t know how to talk to people”.
Well, I am off to go jump in the shower.  My friend and I are going to kidnap the church secretary today! (she is our friend, and its for a late admin. assistants day)
~kate
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Jo permalink
    April 24, 2008 8:22 pm

    I’m glad you had a good time! I was so bummed to miss it – instead I had to go to my MIL’s house to get her carpet cleaner.

    Give Krissy a big “Amanda loves her church secretary” hug for me!

  2. Liz permalink
    April 25, 2008 8:18 pm

    Hey! Cool! I love that woman!

Leave a Reply

