Skip to content

How To: Ribbon Table Runner

April 23, 2008
After responding to a post The Nester put on Blissfully Domestic about ribbon I decided I would show how I use ribbon to make a table runner for showers and parties!  Its a simple four step process.
Items needed:
5-7 different types of ribbon
Scissors
About 30 mins
Step one:  Cut 2 lengths of ribbon per ribbon type.  One length is as long as your table the other length is the width of your table (see below)  I like to have the ribbon draping over the ends but it is my preference and it will look good not draping as well.

Step two:  Arrange all your “long” pieces length wise on your table.
Step three:  Arrange your “short” lengths across the opposite direction as shown below.
Step four: Star weaving “over under over under ect.” It is easiest to weave the “short” pieces into the long.  Do this the whole length of the table alternating the starting points as over and under as seen below.
Special note:  If you are using a round table cut all pieces the same length instead of having a “short” and “long” set.

This is super simple and the end product looks about like the step three picture. (Infact if you run out of time you could end there it just won’t have as much texture but still be cute!)
If you have any questions let me know, I would be more than happy to help!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Alicia permalink
    April 23, 2008 4:19 am

    Thank you! I believe I can do that. : ) What a pretty idea.

  2. Mrs. B permalink
    April 23, 2008 4:38 am

    Super cute! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Darla permalink
    April 23, 2008 5:40 am

    Awesome! You may have just solved my dilemma to my never ending table runner (and center piece – got any idea for THAT?) saga.

  4. Amanda Jo permalink
    April 23, 2008 8:12 pm

    🙂

  5. Ceall Na Sidhe permalink
    June 6, 2008 6:12 am

    I really like this idea. Do you just leave the ends like that, or do you trim and finish them somehow? My kids would pull it apart in seconds!

Leave a Reply

