Skip to content

random thought thursday

April 4, 2008

Well, its Thursday.  This has not been a particurally exciting week.  I am gearing up at work for Bible Drill and Speaker’s Tournament competitions every weekend for the next month.  In fact, this coming weekend is my last free weekend until my birthday.  (Exactly one month from today…I like cash, incase you need some ideas)  So I will be very busy this weekend doing some stuff around the house.  


I have made it a goal (an un-accomplishable goal) to get the whole house organized this Spring.  Really what that means is we need to get rid of a bunch of stuff.  I would have garage sale but I’m not sure anyone would want our junk.  However, compaired to the slim pickin’s we have in the area for garage sales, our stuff might just sell like hot cakes.  We have a pair of lamps that I guess I could put on craigslist.  Either that or freecycle them.   We also have just some random odds and ends that are shoved in closets and cabinets because we never use them.  In fact, until we moved into our own offices we had a “junk room”  (I call it the dead animal room because it has some deer heads in there – mounted, not just laying on the ground, ya weirdo) I do have a funny story about deer heads I will tell at the end of the blog today.  Back to the point….until we moved our offices we had boxes in there that we never even unpacked from almost 2 years ago.  Obviously, we don’t need the stuff in there.  

On another note, I want to go on vacation so bad I can taste the sunscreen.  Well, just figuratively speaking.  I would never taste sunscreen unless promised large sums of money.  So, if you are offering (remember, I like cash) let me know.  I mean, I will try anything once!

The deer head story:  My husband has triplet cousins who are in kindergarden this year.  Well, about a year ago one of the kids asked his mom “Why does Uncle Gary go around chopping off deer heads?”  (refering to the deer in our spare room-we bought the house from DHs parents)  This kid is VERY concerned with animal care I guess.  It made me laugh picturing my FIL trying to sneak up on deer to chop thier heads off (sorry Mom if you are reading this!)  This is the same kid who asked last Christmas if ham comes from hamsters.  I would have NEVER put that connection together! 

over and out…
~kate
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn Gahan permalink
    April 4, 2008 9:55 pm

    Kate,
    Thanks for your comment! I’ve visited your blog and we TOTALLY have the same sense of humor. Look forward to reading more!

    Dawn of The Gahan Girls

  2. Tamara permalink
    April 5, 2008 12:32 am

    So what do these lamps look like.. We have been lamp shopping for our office and living room.

    Tamara

  3. Ray McVay permalink
    April 5, 2008 9:46 am

    I sure hope those odds and ends in the closet don’t include my video gear. 🙂

Leave a Reply

